Honors and Awards

In recognition of performance, service and sportsmanship IDA is pleased to award several perpetual trophies and special honors each year.

The Beukema National Team Championship Trophy

The coveted bronze, Beukema National Team Championship Trophy designed by Trotting Horse Park is awarded each year to the highest placing team. Teams are honored to have their names inscribed on the mahogany base topped with its statuesque horse in piaffe, the essence of balance and collection. Previous winners are:

2018 Emory and Henry College
2017 Averett University
2016 Emory and Henry College
2015 Emory and Henry College
2014 Virginia Intermont College
2013 Mount Holyoke College
2012 Johnson & Wales University
2011 Lake Erie College
2010 Virginia Intermont College
2009 University of New Hampshire
2008 Mount Holyoke College
2007 Virginia Intermont College
2006 Virginia Intermont College
2005 Lake Erie College
2004 Mount Holyoke College
2003 Mount Holyoke College
2002 Mount Holyoke College

The Hoffman Reserve National Team Championship Trophy

The Reserve National Team Champion is awarded a trophy in honor of Michelle Hoffman, who was a student at Mt. Holyoke and the originator of the IDA concept. The lovely mixed media trophy is designed by Geoff Herguth.

2018 Otterbein University
2017 Mount Holyoke College
2016 Averett University
2015 Virginia Tech
2014 Otterbein University
2013 Johnson & Wales University
2012 University of Findlay
2011 Delaware Valley College
2010 University of Florida
2009 Virginia Intermont College
2008 University of Massachusetts/Amherst

Trip Harting Memorial Trophy for First Level Champion

Trip Harting is remembered as one of the leading judges in the world of dressage. Harting was honored by the USPC as a “living legend” and was admired for his support of youth equestrian education and competition. He was known for his friendliness to the competitors, always saying, "I hope you have a great ride" before each competitor entered the ring and, "Thank you very much" at the end. Trip Harting judged the IDA National Championships in 2005 at Lake Erie College, and 2006 at St. Andrews, and was one of IDA’s most prominent supporters.  Trip passed away, August 21, 2008 at the age of 62. It is in his memory that we present the Trip Harting Memorial Trophy to the First Level Individual Champion.

2018 Ali Gilmore, University of Maine
2017 Meghan Watt, University of Florida
2016 Samantha Majors, North Carolina State University
2015 Kelsie Bricker, Otterbein University 
2014 Natasha Sprengers-Levine, University of Vermont
2013 Julie McNelis, Johnson & Wales University
2012 Anna Beckman, Otterbein University
2011 Caroline Fenkel, Delaware Valley College
2010 Jessica Forend, Johnson & Wales University
2009 Greg Schmid, Otterbein University

Mary Beth McLain Memorial Trophy for Introductory Champion

The Mary Beth McLain Perpetual Trophy is awarded in the honor of Mary Beth McLain, a renowned dressage rider who won numerous prestigious horse riding events throughout her career.  Mary Beth became involved in intercollegiate dressage while working with the St. Andrews Presbyterian College Equestrian Program. In memory of her many contributions to St. Andrews Intercollegiate Dressage team, her skills in both riding and teaching and her generosity of spirit, we present the Mary Beth McLain Perpetual Trophy to the champion Individual Introductory Level rider.

2018 Cloe Hughes, University of New Hampshire
2017 Megan Leclerc, University of Otterbein
2016 Sierra Davenport, Emory & Henry College
2015 Meagan Rosenberg, Wake Forest University 
2014 Kelly Barnes, Virginia Intermont College
2013 Randall Wiseman, Delaware Valley College
2012 Bree Greer, California Polytechnic State University
2011 Sara Edmunson, University of Florida
2010 Averi Frederiksen, Virginia Intermont College
2008 Krista Hayes, Virginia Intermont College
2009 Colleen Grant, Otterbein College
2007 Emily Maus, Mount Holyoke College
2006 Janne Matzner-Gore, Mount Holyoke College

IDA Hall of Fame

The IDA Hall of Fame Award recognizes outstanding service in an administrative capacity to the functioning of the association.  Without hours of volunteerism, IDA could not function in its daily operations as a 501c3 organization on both the national and regional level.  We honor an outstanding individual each year and present them with a plaque. Thank you to all who serve.

2016 Ginger Henderson, Averett University, IDA Board Member 
2015 Kari Briggs, Otterbein University, IDA Board Member 
2014 Teresa McDonald, Virginia Tech, IDA Founding Member  (posthumous)
2013 Suzanne Mente, IDA Board Member
2012 Sarah Simms, Centenary College
2011 Bridgette Boland, University of Florida
2010 Rebecca Schurink, Mount Holyoke College
2009 Lisa Moosmueller-Terry, Virginia Intermont College
2008 Michelle Hoffman, IDA Founder
2007 Jackie Dwelle, St. Andrews Presbyterian College
2006 Beth Beukema, Johnson & Wales University
2005 Lanier Cordell, IDA Founding Member

Coach of the Year

The IDA Coach of the Year Award honors an individual who represents the ideals of sportsmanship, achievement and dedication to their team and region.  The coaches are the backbone of IDA and represent the heart of the organization. We honor outstanding service and contribution to the IDA through the Coach of the Year Award.

2016 Ann Fowler, Cazenovia College 
2015 Breann DePietro, Delaware Valley College
2014 Kari Briggs, Otterbein University
2013 Crystal Taylor, Johnson & Wales University
2012 Bonnie Timmerman, University of Vermont
2011 Ginger Henderson, Averett University
2010 Suzanne Mente, University of Massachusetts
2009 Teresa McDonald, Virginia Tech
2008 Lisa Moosmueller-Terry, Virginia Intermont College
2007 Rebecca Schurink, Mount Holyoke College
2006 Sarah Marchese, Centenary College
2005 Jackie Dwelle, St. Andrews Presbyterian College

Team Sportsmanship Award

Each region may nominate one team per year for the Team Sportsmanship Award.  The team represents the ideals of sportsmanship, achievement, and dedication to IDA.  Team leadership, initiative and service are honored through this award.

2016 University of Massachusetts 
2015 Midway College
2014 Post University
2013 Miami University of Ohio
2012 University of Maine
2011 Otterbein University
2010 Lenoir Rhyne and Appalachian State Universities
2009 University of Findlay
2008 North Carolina State University
2007 University of Vermont
2006 Elon University
2005 University of Connecticut


Platinum Sponsors

Big Dee's Logo
Adequan Logo


Gold Sponsors

2016 InkStables Logo copy

Silver Sponsors 


Bronze Sponsors 

IEA Logo